Tuesday, July 28, 2009

Re: My fb status on 7/27/09

The status read as follows: "Driadonna...if I were a stripper I wouldnt have to wait a month for a check." Really what this means is that when you try to do the 9to5 thing, the use my education thing, you get screwed. But I could do sumthing a little less honorable (by most judgments) and not have to worry about money at all.
And here's the back story:
The Lord opened a door through something called the Summer Youth Employment Program (under this pgm's guidelines, fortunately, i am still considered "youth")
It's normally for at-risk and disadvantaged teens, but thanks to some Obama stimulus dollars, they were able to expand the age range and the number of jobs.
I understood during orientation that I had to work three weeks before I would receive a paycheck. And I thought I had enuf in the reserves to stretch that long.
But three weeks was last Friday. I was told last Thursday that I had to wait until Saturday.
Would you like to know what happened on Saturday?
Well, me and hundreds of other youth stood outside for hours in a line wrapped around the building. In the rain. And when many of us got inside, we were told there was no check for us. Imagine how discouraging that could be to a young person. They did their part. They worked the job like they were told, caught the bus up to this inconvenient location, waited for hours and walked away with nothing to show for it. Caught the bus back home empty-handed. Because ppl "in charge" just let them down. So give them another reason why they should "do the right thing and stay off the streets and do sumthing constructive with their summer."
Back to me: yesterday (Monday), I was told that a check would not be available for me before Wednesday. So with that in mind...I've practically worked an entire month without a paycheck. Bills were due on the 26th and 28th. So I've depleted the money I'd saved for a vacation next month. And mom gave me $10 for gas to try to last til Wednesday. IF thats when I'll have a check.
Thank you, City of Detroit.

No comments: