Thursday, July 9, 2009

O.T.B

Ask any high school senior what that abbreviation means, if you don't know.

I admire ppl who have the discipline to go to a job they dislike. That's what it boils down to, having the discipline to recognize that today's current job is just a stepping stone to where you're trying to go, or just a means to an end. That type of mindset enables you to do what you gotta do, as they say.

Well, I'm not there yet. I quit one of my jobs last week. I've never quit before (wait-I'll tell you what happened with McDonald's and we can decide if I was fired or if I quit). And as much as I need money...and as many people who are out here in need of a job, it just seems crass and stupid to quit when you already have one.

It was an easy job. I was a waitress, and while most of them make $2.00/hour, I made above minimum wage. This means whether tips were good or not, I still had a decent paycheck. I walked out with cash in pocket every night, which is unlikely to happen at any other job. I worked at night, leaving me with all day to work another job and run errands. (When I wasnt sleepy from working all night, right?) It was only three days a week, too, then it was supposed to be reduced to two. Tips varied widely from night to night: one night I made $14. The last nite I went out with a bang, having done the least amount of work and making $146.50....But I had to literally convince myself to go every single day.

The bosses and their rules were awful, the co-workers weren't the best company (I will never understand why it's like that when a buncha chicks get together) and nice customers were few and far between. Tore my feet up wearing heels for eight hours a night; eight hours I coulda been sleeping or spending time with family or applying for a better job, or even watching DVR. Beyond that, by the time dues, fees, taxes and tips were taken out, it was clear to me I could make as much money at a minimum wage gig anywhere else. But these are minor reasons, I know.

I was supposed to go on Sunday, and I agonized over the decision like someone had asked if I wanted to die by lethal injection or by the electric chair. I said to my sister, "I can go to work tonight and make over $100. Should I go?"
In all her 8-year-old wisdom, she broke that thing down to its least common denominator. She said, "You can go if you want to, but if you don't want to, then..." she shrugged and continued her pursuit of fireflies.

I realized that as much as I could do with $100 plus $8.77/hr, I simply did not want to go. As I called off, I acknowledged it was a dumb decision. But I stayed home anyway. I washed dishes that I'd allowed to pile up and I slept sooooo peacefully. I was starting a new job in the morning, and instead of having to rush there from the other gig, I was able to iron my clothes the night before, do sum research and walk in bright-eyed and energetic.

Every day since I have quit, I have felt sososo good. I wake up early every morning, with a smile. I say thank you Lord for every little thing. Because I am indeed grateful to have happiness and peace. I still have two jobs, and I walk into both of them happy as hell. I don't mind the day's activities, whether it's folding clothes or entering data into Excel. I just feel carefree. From the 13th floor office where I am now, I can see Hart Plaza, the Detroit River, Canada, and the sun shining on both countries. I'm surrounded by ppl who are working for change, and while it's only a summer job, I'm genuinely excited to be here.

Quitting instantly improved my quality of life. I still have a car note to pay for, grad school to apply for and astronomical car insurance to pay for. I'm still trying to get into my career, forget another job! But I'm happy in the meantime. Whew!

No comments: