It doesn't help that I work in a clothing store. I spend a lot of my day working on stock, so I see all the cute, cheap stuff before it hits the floor.
If I work three days, I probably buy something twice. (I've slowed down a bit, though. Seriously.) I tell myself, this skirt is only $11.50. This head band is $1.50. That's not a big deal! But before you know it, 10 + 3+ 4 here and there adds up to 50 before I know it!!!!
My mom said, if you keep spending a little bit here and there, you won't have any money when something big comes up that you really need. And she's right. I stopped using all my credit cards and said I would only spend cash from now on; thats a good step, right? Not if I still have that darn debit card on standby...
It's not that I'm cashing out in an attempt to keep up with the latest trends. It's just that I see this one small thing and that one little thing, and I think I'll be happy after that. Last night I drove to two CVS's to find a shade of nail polish I saw in ESSENCE magazine...Knowing I don't have $2.99 to waste right now.
Another point is, there are many facets of my life I can't control. But if I want a frappucino at midnight, that's within my power. I'll get up and go get one. Food....is one area where I waste a lot of money, too. In addition to weave and hair care products. I tell myself, weave is versatile and convenient. I drop this bundle of cash but dont have to worry about it for the next month and a half...then I get tired of the 'do the next week. Or I read about this new deep conditioner and decide that it might be that miracle product I've been waiting for to help me get salon hair at home. (I think the solution here is just to cut it all off, or consider locks, as one reader suggested.)
HELP ME!! HELP ME PLEASE!!!! CALLING ALL FRUGAL, NON-BROKE PPL! HELP ME DEVELOP SUM DISCIPLINE!!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment