Am I biased because it's Diddy?No.
Did I watch it because of Diddy? Yes....
Now that we've resolved that, I def enjoyed the new MTV show "Making HIS Band." I love live music, so I appreciated the talent and artistry of the musicians being featured. And I have to be honest, I have more respect for them than if I was just watching a show about a bunch of singers or dancers (which is why I skipped all the Danity Kane MTB's and dont watch America's Best Dance Crew....it's not they aren't extremely talented as well, I just don't find it as engaging.)
For one, it was interesting to see Diddy scaling back on the bravado and actually being the student, for once. His meeting with his mentor Andre Harrell was almost kind of endearing. I wouldnt go so far as to say Diddy was nervous...but he def wasn't out there like, "This is the hottest album in all of music history." He was a little unsure which way to go, which was different for us to see.
You know the most interesting part of the show, hands down: when they ambushed Diddy with the tranny. They coulda warned that man! At one point, I heard someone singing in the deepest voice imaginable. There were two women and a man on stage, but the man wasn't singing...that's when I realized that one of those women...was NOT a woman! And Diddy picked that up too, real quick.
The discussion that ensued went sumthin like this:
"Yo, is that a man?" - Diddy
"Um, yea, it's a man." - Staff man
"Naw, like, for real, that's a dude?"- Diddy
"I don't know, but you need to put 'whatever' in the house...'Whatever' is nice." - staff man, who meant that the man/woman was a nice singer that can sing lead well and harmonize well.
Later on: "Is is a transvestite or transsexual?" - Diddy
"Um, her name is Micheal." - Staff man
...at which point I was ROTFL
Judging by the clips from what will be upcoming on the show, I didn't see much drama...and we all know these shows thrive on drama, so I imagine the majority of ppl will label the show "boring." But I'll be watching. *And sidebar, last night I saw one of the drummers, a big fellow named Khristopher, and one of the keyboardist auditioners, playing in the band of new R&B/soul singer K'Jon. I guess they're keeping busy as they wait for a phone call for the finale....*
2 comments:
I was on the phone with my bff and I kept saying that Jaila looked like a big man. Low and behold...LMAOL
Forgot to mention, I enjoyed the show for the same reasons you mentioned. I want Nina Mac and Jaila to make the band!
Post a Comment