Saturday, July 4, 2009

My Heart Goes out to Ruth Madoff


But after reading a little more, I wonder if it should.

I guess I feel bad that she married a crook in 71-year-old Bernie Madoff, who ran an elaborate Ponzi scheme and fooled people into investing $65 billion. For over 20 years he swindled hundreds of people, from actors to regular Joes with families, and have left many completely devastated.

But I felt bad for Ruth that she will be losing her life partner to his 150-year jail sentence. I asked myself what I would do if my husband were going to jail for the rest of his life....


But maybe I shouldn't feel bad at all. I remember interviewing a psychologist who was telling me he'd been married for like 30 years, and he was still "learning things" about his wife. He said, "if you meet me at 25 and we get married three years later, there's still 25 years of life before we met that you know nothing about. You can't learn all of that in three years. It takes a lifetime to get to know someone."


With this in mind, do we think Ruth was completely innocent? Do we think she had no idea her husband had such disregard for other peoples? They were married for decades and have two sons...do we think none of them knew Bernie was capable of getting up and doing dishonest work every day with a straight face?

You never know what's in someone's heart....but the Madoffs had a New York penthouse, houses in Palm Beach and the Hamptons, four yachts, two Benzes; and Ruth had two minks and $2.6 million in jewelry alone. Amongst the opulence, did anyone ask Big Daddy Bernie how they could really afford that? And if Ruth indeed knew, how could she be so cool with spending other peoples' money?


Bernie thought he was gon be slick and leave her $70 million. But come on, when you're married, what's hers is yours. And everything he has belongs to the government as they try to pay restitution to the victims. Federal marshals escorted her from her four-bedroom penthouse last week and ordered her to leave behind everything that could be sold...clothing, furnishings, luggage, curtains, rugs, footwear...everything! She was, however, allowed to keep $2.5 mil. She probably looking like, wtf am I gon do with that change?


You can imagine many ppl believe she was not an innocent bystander. They dont believe she first heard of the charges in court with the rest of the world, and this is why she is just as hated as he is. I heard she isn't allowed to go back to her salon and former friends don't get up with her anymore...but the thing that has removed my symapthy for her is this: her children have stopped speaking to her as well. Maybe they know something....

No comments: