Thursday, July 9, 2009

Chivalry IS Dead

Fellas, I feel you. I do. I'm a woman, but it truly annoys me when I do courteous things for people and they fail to acknowledge it.

If I hold the door open for someone and they walk through like it magically opened, or worse, like I was supposed to do it, I loudly say, "You're welcome," to let them know that the heavens didn't just open the door for them. At work, when someone asked for a drink by saying, "Gimme a Coke," or "Let me get that," I would pause and say, "Oh you mean, may you have a Coke, please? Yes, you certainly can! Enjoy your evening." (Gotta be careful with that, though, cuz sumtimes rude ppl still tip.)

Beyond the general lack of manners in the world, I just want you all to know that I'm surprised by whom the perpetrators are. You see, there once was a time when all the old ppl you saw were nice and sweet...always smiling and offering you peppermints. Now, these old folks are rude! I held the door open for a lady at the bank last week, and she was more concerned with beating me to the line - when there were only 2 people there anyway! I said, "Oh no. Never again." So guys, I understand if you've decided you're done being chivalrous. (If you see me struggling with a bunch of groceries, take it back, though.)

(This reminds me of another topic: how much I dislike these rude Detroit/Up North dudes. I will get to that post in a minute, but for now it absolutely stands true that Southern guys have manners and Northern just guys don't know how to act.)

No comments: