Folks who don't respond when you say hello? Yea...they're sum assholes. (I'm on the set like, well damn, the actors give me hugs erytime they see me...but this one old no-name nig act like he too good. Boy, please!)
Folks who ignore your text messages? Yea...they're some assholes. (Unless you asked a question they just didn't wanna answer, which I occasionally understand)
People who don't respond to your e-mails? Yea, they sum assholes, too. (If the message didn't bounce back,that means they got it and just said f* you. I don't care if you freakin' e-mailed Michael Jordan or Debra Lee...they could say hi.)
And I'd like to add another group of ppl to this asshole group. You see, I've come to realize there are two types of internships:
1. One is a structured program, designed to train and develop talent. They do things like give you mentors, take you to lunch, set you some goals, chart your progress, make you do case studies and projects and give you monogrammed mugs and bags when you leave. They use phrases like, "It was great having you on board; call me if there's any thing I can do for you!"
2. Then you have folks who think, "Ooh interns! An extra set of hands to do all the shyt I dont wanna do!" These ppl barely answer ur questions, hardly ask you any questions or attempt to make conversation at all,(yet everyone on 'their level' thinks they're great...bcuz they only find it necessary to chat w/ppl on 'their level') they only give you menial tasks, love to check you for very small things in order to exert their authority, want you to 'take initiative' but tell you no to most things and hate to see you do anything outside the 'intern/peon' role, any time you speak up they accuse you of complaining or being disrespectful and they don't keep you informed on anything that's going on or anything helpful to your career. At the end of the internship, they don't give you a rec letter or even a pack of pencils. Just, 'Thanks, bye.' They have forgotten where they came from, not in the sense of 'leaving the hood and not looking back,' but rather forgetting that they didn't know everything at one point, and sumone was nice enough to help them out. The fact that they don't return the favor tells you what kind of people they really are.
Obviously, this second group of people? Yea....you guessed it! They sum assholes. You feel like you're wasting your time in that internship because you're dealing w/ sum1 who couldn't care less if you progress or what you do afterward. But you don't quit because you feel it would look bad.
Sumtimes I wonder, was this person always an asshole? Am I doing sumthing that causes them to amp up the asshole-ness? Or did they just become as asshole when they got a title that allowed them to be over sum1?
I'm not sure what kinda message it sends when the interns have more integrity than their bosses or other ppl on your staff....Let's just hope we remember those assholes when we get to their positions - and beyond - and refrain from turning into them.
No comments:
Post a Comment