Friday, December 18, 2009

Golden Globes

The dress rehearsal to Hollywood's biggest night. Much more enjoyable than Grandpa Oscar, nearly as prestigious, and more diverse in the content that it celebrates.
I'm excited about the recently announced nominations, and DevaDonna just has a few tiny observations:

*Am I the only one happy to see George Clooney depart from political movies and really weird odd-ball comedies to just do a regular ol' romantic comedy? I have yet to see "Up in the Air," but I think about films like "Out of Sight" and "One Fine Day," and I'm just glad to see George return to his gray-haired, handsome, effortless style of leading man charm...don't forget your bread and butter, baby!

*And one time for Marky Mark! My, how far we've come from '90s rap and posing in CK underwear! (though I wouldn't mind if he modeled again...) I've been reading about this movie "The Lovely Bones," how unique it is, how many stuffy awards it's won and how it's the best screenplay of the year...and when I finally see a trailer, it's starring Mark Wahlberg. That makes me proud.

*Now on to the rest: Morgan Freeman is nominated for "Invictus." I didn't see it, but it's another one with him playing Mandela/Jesus/The President/The Old, Wise, Infallible One...with his nasty, cheatin azz. (look it up)

*Mo'Nique and the big girl (I aint feel like looking up the spelling, Gabourey sumthin. Sorry) are nominated for "Precious." They kept saying Mo'Nique was gonna win an Oscar for this one, but this is one of those cases where she just oughta be glad to be nominated. (CAN YOU IMAGINE ALL THE YELLING THAT WILL BE TAKING PLACE ON THAT STAGE IF MO'NIQUE ACTUALLY WINS? I shudder at the thought, all at the Golden Globes talkin bout, "YES! YES! SUGA! BABY! YES! YES! YES!" ...HOWEVER, the film got nominated for Best Cast as well, so I actually think they're gonna walk away as winners in one of these 3 categories, at least. AND I DON'T CARE ABOUT THESE NOMINATIONS- I'M STILL NOT PAYING MONEY TO SIT IN A THEATER AND BE DEPRESSED FOR TWO HOURS.

*Penelope Cruz is nominated for this musical, "Nine," but she hasn't even figured out how to speak English yet! Seriously, Penny, you been here too long to still sound like Fez from "That 70's Show"

*Ruby Dee is nominated for some Lifetime movie. Nothing bad to say about this foxy lady! Glad she's still working!

*Yea, so "30 Rock" is nominated for everything, again! And all the noms from "Glee" make me feel like I'm missing out on sumthing by not watching the show...

For those who don't know, this is what I wanna do with my life...so I actually follow awards season and all the goings-on...And I'm pretty excited to see what happens!

No comments: