Tuesday, June 16, 2009

True Blood


I keep trying to give this show a chance....and it is to no avail. One reason I try to watch it is because I like HBO. Secondly, it has such a buzz that I wanna see what everyone else sees. And third, I dig vampire movies and TV shows. With all this in mind, I try to objectively watch the show and determine if it is as entertaining as I want it to be.

We all know that vampires have long been associated with sex...but this is completely lost when you take powerful, brooding, mysterious vampires and place them in the dang Louisiana swamps!

Now you just have some old country, redneck hicktown vampires, and that's NOT sexy.
To make matters worse, of the four episodes I've seen, not one has had a plot. Seriously. I ask myself if I would understand this show better if I had caught it from the very first episode. And the conclusion I reach is no, I'm sure the first show was just as weird, unsettling and convoluted.

The black girl is the character with the most sense. (I don't know her name. I dont hear to many ppl call her name either.) The gay black guy is entertaining too. So when I saw that a new black guy was on there, that made me happy! But alas, it is the brother from the movie "Coach Carter" and my fav TV show "The Game." He's pretty monotone and emotionless, but fairly easy on the eyes...so we'll see what happens with him.

Anyway, last night's episode ended with a girl who is a vampire, having sex with her vampire boyfriend. During this highly graphic display, he bites her on the neck and she starts to bleed. Apparently this just heightens the sexual experience, because she continues to take it while blood drips all over her face. So the viewer is just like, "Eww, what is this weird, nasty mess???"

Every single episode features nudity and sex. It cuts from somebody being killed, to a lady butt naked on the couch receiving oral pleasure....WHY? where is the continuity? what is the reason for the gratuitous nudity? At least make it relevant to the storyline - wait! There isn't one.

SO good ppl, maybe you can explain things to me...but in a nutshell, to my understanding, "True Blood" is a country, bloody, weird porno series.

2 comments:

The Single Black Woman said...

Aww..I just think you're taking issue with the sex.

Black girl name is Tara
Black guy name is Lafyette
New black guy name is Eggs

Sookie is NOT a vampire, though her boyfriend Bill is.

It's a serial series NOT a we wrap it all up in one episode series...meaning each episode builds on the next...so the denouement may come in the middle of the season and the plot wraps up at the end...each episode is a piece of the puzzle.

ALSO the premise is that Vampires are like everyone else as they've now come out of hiding (The Great Revelation) so it's gonna be a lot of day to day type stuff with a little action thrown in win necessary.

Vampires are the best lovers around so there is gonna be a LOT of sex AND cause it's HBO and Alan Ball u get as much naked man action as woman.

Stop being a prude:-)

DevaDonna said...

lol...why I gotta be all that??

i think i feel like if they take out some of the sex there mite be room for more substantial information to be shared with me so that i can understnad this dang on show...cuz its not like the sex is making the show better...but maybe I am being a "what u said" cuz i dont like anything with sex for the sake of sex...

but anyway, i am going to watch it again. fortunately for me they play re runs at all times of night