Thursday, March 18, 2010

Two Shows Most Men Will Never Watch

But you should.

They happen to be "Model City" on Centric.....and "RuPaul's Drag Race," on LOGO. (or w/e channel)

Put that eyebrow down that you just raised! I know if you're a heterosexual black man, you probably think I'm crazy, but if we can agree on this one point - that at the simplest level, television is supposed to be entertaining - then neither of those shows would disappoint.

"Model City" is a reality show that follows a group of black and Hispanic male models as they navigate the industry. Why would you wanna watch a bunch of greasy, shirtless dudes? Because, surprisingly, the show depicts them as regular guys. Some go to school, they have other talents they want to pursue, and most have girlfriends. And only one is (openly) gay. (In case that's what you were assuming the show would be about.) None of them is so striking that you go - wow, he must be a model! They just happen to have washboard abs and be photogenic. (Which should give the average Joe some hope.)

The show interests me because the guys are so down to earth, except for Wendell, the egomaniac who dates one of fashion's current "It" girls, Sessilee Lopez. Ibrahim is a painter and a modeling vet, who lives with his gurl and always gives advice to the younger guys, like the big brother of the bunch. He and Wendell hate each other! This provides many comedic moments. Then there's Nelson, who decides to move in with his girlfriend, then tells her, as she's unpacking her boxes, that "I don't think I can do this." ...some of y'all might be able to relate to that. Another reason this show might appeal to you is because I've learned recently that men are more obsessed with fashion than I ever imagined - and these guys get to wear some pretty dope outfits. (If nothing else, it confirms for me that every girl thinks she's a model right now...but actually, more guys probably already have what it takes)



Now on to the more outlandish of my selections - "RuPaul's Drag Race." Yes, the show is about men who dress like women. Buttttt it's a reality show, just like all the others, where people have to compete in challenges each week and display true creativity. However, these contestants, I promise, are way more likable, fabulous and funny than any others you've seen. Think Next Top Model meets The Apprentice meets Project Runway. Seriously, these guys/girls will make you laugh, gasp and cheer in the same episode. For example, Tyra Sanchez, the man I love to hate, really thinks he is Beyonce. He has a son, somehow, which motivates him to...be a drag star, I guess. But he's def the Bytch of the bunch, and it's funny to see his interaction with the others. I'll admit, some of the moments might be a lil too much for you, like when the girls have to pole dance, but seriously, outside of that the show is soooo entertaining that you really wouldn't hate yourself if you gave it a chance.



So if you happen to be bored one day with nothing to do but watch TV, give yourself a break and watch either of these two seemingly guilty pleasures. And if you watch them with some women, you might actually be able to say you had....fun. K?

No comments: