Monday, April 27, 2009

Turnin Me Off

There aren't too many female entertainers whom I call myself a fan of. And this chick isn't one of the few:



I peep her swag. I see what she trynna do. But I just aint wit it. We know Ciara ushered in the "Crunk'n'B" movement. And we know Keri's clearly trying to brand herself as the anti-Beyonce. Rihanna started as the pop princess-type and migrated over into the edgy side of the pool, but Miss Keri is all like, "Look here bitches, *neck roll and index finger up* let me tell you from jump, I aint nan none of them prissy ass hoes."
Ok, OK. I get it Keri. But you just tryin a lil too hard for me.

I understand she is to be credited to some degree for her songwriting on such tracks as Usher's "Yeah," Ciara's "Like a Boy," and Omarion's "Icebox." So let's give credit where it's due - You know DevaDonna respects anyone who's vicious with the pen! And that song with Ne-YO and Kanye works for me on several levels. Her vocals are the worst part of the song, but I so feel the lyrics, Ne-Yo sounds like velvet, and Kanye's verses make me feel like he's getting his mind back.



OH! I wont neglect to mention that she's a beautiful girl. We wont give MAC makeup and good lighting the credit for that. The girl is cute. But I just dont like her as an artist. And I hate her twin Brooke on "Harlem Heights" lol!

3 comments:

Nissa said...

LOL. I'm with you.

Keri should slow down on the beef. Beyonce is too far outta her league to even think about competing.

The whole thing is so funny I gotta say. Especially stuff on youtube with them fighting.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vUs8txRWUCo

DevaDonna said...

Yea, I dont know why she has to come in the game all angry, but whats funny to me is, Keri is hatin on B and what did Beyonce do?
Oh, she just had a #1 movie at the box office last weekend!
keri said it herself, "if you aint gettin money just be mad at yourself."
....and B has too much of it to be mad at anybody, lol!

surabi said...

Miss D: I agree with you and the other commenters. Some people don't understand that if you want to get people to know your music and appreciate it, then they should not try to make someone else look bad or shame them in anyway. If you are good, then you will find an audience. She should take a cue from 50 cents with that beef non-sense and trying to sell records. His foolishness has been recognized and frowned upon. He can't even sell his albums like he used to.