Wednesday, December 10, 2008

Window Shopping

Honestly, when you watch shows like "My Super Sweet 16," "The Real Housewives of Orange County," and other shows that celebrate opulence, it doesn't make you jealous a little bit?
OR it doesn't give you the idea that they're living the "good life"...thereby telling you if you're not balling/looking like them, then you AREN'T living a"good life."
When you see "Flavor of Love" or "Rock of Love" or "The Girls Next Door," do they not tell you that's how you must look to be attractive to a rich, famous man? Tell me the truth: aren't we all being perpetually fed the same cookie cutter image of what life should look like? what you should look like? what you should wear?
Show me some more stuff like "house of payne" - two heavyset people happy with each other and their blue collar jobs.
Show me some more stuff like BET's "Brothers to Brutha" - 5 kids with two different mamas, substance abuse issues and illegitimate children...but they got each otha and they're reaching for their dreams!
Wait a minute- y'all know I went too far with that, complimenting BET lol...but I'ma have more on that Brutha show later...

1 comment:

surabi said...

Hi Miss D: I don't become jealous of shows like Real Housewives or Super Sweet 16 and the likes because even though they have money, they are still human and have the same issues and even moreso than the lower classed people. I always think about what Biggie Smalls said, more money more problems. I don't mind having a few more dollars, but as long as I don't have to work for it. If I have to work for it, forget it. But anyhoo, I have never seen House of Payne, but I have seen Brother to Brutha and absolutely love it. I will be buying their album due out this month. But as far as the dating shows like Flavor of Love, or Rock of Love I only see that as a show that tells people if you want to be used sexually and then discarded like a sack of old used up trash that is good for nothing except to get sexed up, no I don't think that they are a standard for how we should look because look at who the hosts are. Please Miss D. They are has-beens and not rich A-list stars as we know them. Thanks for this post though because i do watch all of those shows except House of Payne. I will start watching though. Surabi