Sunday, August 3, 2008

AIDS is a BLACK disease


I apologize, I am not in the mood to do the necessary research, but visit CNN.com and read the story about AIDS in the black community. It is related to the "Black in America" special report. It says something like 1 in 20 people in D.C. has HIV, and AIDS is the leading killer of black women ages 24-35...don't quote me on that, please, but the stats are staggering. Why does it seem like every city with a high density of black people correlates with the WORST statistics? (HIV, murder, diabetes, high blood pressure, obesity, etc) We are killing ourselves and each other, and I am really not sure why. In the most advanced nation in the world, why is there such mis-education....or ignorance to the information in front of us? Understand: everyone in America does not have the same access to information. But you would think by now the message to wrap it up would have seeped into every corner of the country.
The report goes on to say that billions of dollars are spent on foreign aid, (and honestly, even that is not doing enough), but domestic spending specifically for HIV awareness and treatment is exponentially less.
So....yes, Africa needs our assistance. But Detroit needs help, D.C. needs help, and a lot of other places right next door to you.
Why go all the way down the street and around the corner to help someone when the people right in your own backyard need you too?

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

You know what, I believe the statistics are lying. How in the world does a people, who only make up 15% of the entire US population, lead in everything that is negative, evil, vile and sad. Someone is LYING. Now I know that we do have a problem in the world period with HIV/AIDS and other STD's. But come on, how does the minority lead in all the bad things, but the majority leads in all of the good things. Ridiculous. Thanks for the post.