
For the most part, people are easily led. So men, maybe it's not your fault. From the time you were born, somebody told you what beauty was supposed to look like. They told you beauty looked like blond hair, light eyes, long hair, long legs and big boobs.
You know what? The same person told us that, too. That's why it's so hard for some of us to look in the mirror and like what we see. And I don't care what you say, it's also the reason Beyonce has blond hair and Lil Kim has blue eyes.
Now me, I've always been anti-mainstream. If everyone loves it, you can bet I don't get the hype (i.e. Beanie babies, tamigotchis/giga pets, skull-decorated clothing and Rihanna.) But then there's the opposite end of the spectrum - your Erykah Badu-type, wear my hair natural and my clothes don't have to match cuz I'm trying so hard to be different - but i digress.

So for those of us who fall short of the Arian pinnacle of beauty...I don't know what to tell you. My field of view is limited to the NFL organization I work with, but it's likely to be a microcasm of the entire league. The Black men around me are literally worth millions. Some would consider that success. But not these men. Nope! I think success to them is when Coach blows the whistle, practice ends, and they get to go over to the sidelines...and kiss their blond wives. I swear, the family section of the bleachers yesterday looked like a daycare center where only kids who passed the paper bag test could enter.

Granted, I'm referring to the administrators I have seen more so than the players themselves....but the administrators are former players, so what does that tell you? There's this one Cuba Gooding Jr-lookin man who has not spoken to me yet...when I saw him I thought, 'Now I know he got him a Becky on deck.' And he didn't disappoint. (Or rather, he did.)
But I tell you what..real mess with real...there are some black coaches who act like they cannot say hello (Shh....I won't tell your white friends you spoke to a black person if you don't). But then there are the ones who kick it with me like I'm part of the fam.
My sistas, it just looks like this: When these dudes get their millions in hand, they only want Becky to help them spend it. They don't even have to be cute, y'all - long as their tans are purchased instead of natural. I might be invisible until my internship ends....
Wait: before you reduce me to simply being jealous, I said in the beginning that maybe I can't blame these black men....someone told them beauty didn't look like me and you...and they have yet to wake up and think for themselves. And YES, some of y'all come with that, 'Not me, I love black women.' That's what y'all SAY...but then again, you didn't graduate college yesterday worth $15 million, $8.9 of which is guaranteed even if you just come sit on a bench.

7 comments:
Its a sad but true tale you have just told us on your blog. I dont exactly know whats in the water making the brothers run to the white women (even they having a hard time these days) It appears Latino women a hybrid of BLACK/WHITE appeal seem to be getting most of the love these days. Im looking at you KOBE! But dont worrie about it if a wealthy black man cant take a beautiful black sister like yourself by his side thats his loss. I remember when I watched the NBA finals I was disappointed to see the MVP, and the Coach's kids were mulatto love childs. Can we get some beautiful black kids up in here? Where are the rest of the Eddie Georges and Taj (SWV) Johnsons.
Black girls are gonna have to catch these guys in high school and stay supportive and probably see through some cheating and baby mama drama along the way if they wanna have a part of that NFL dream.
LMBO! You are so correct....thanks for reading!
Maybe you gotta be like shauntae broadus (wife of snoop dogg) and let your man just be publicly trifling if you want to keep him...
Dria, you never disappoint.
I love what you had to say and how to say it. It's sad that when people get on, they feel like the need to hang around certain people or bump uglies with certain women to be accepted.
That being said, I don't really have a problem with interracial dating, so long as you don't pull the aforementioned shit. I really really really really hate when niggas are like (or they get to a point in life where they are like) they only mess with white girls. Or "I ain't feeling black women."
You really can't help who you fall for, but why the fudge do you completely write off an entire race of sweeat ass fine ass intelligent ass down ass women. That irks the shit out of me.
Oh, and although i know nothing about football or pro sports (other than tennis), I could have told you that most of the higher up negroes were uppity. I hope what i wrote is as coherent as i thought it out to be.
b.rand.......you leave Rihanna and Erykah alone lol
Hey B. Rand!!!
Yea, I won't pass judgment on true love...but I will pass judgment on prejudice.
I do love the job, though!
Hello there!
I know what you mean but I also think that black women have BOUGHT into the "Eurocentric" standard of beauty that was being force fed to us since we were little girls...now that we are adults...we need to make different choices about what we will define as beauty...
We have FULL control in how we define beauty now...
The white media can define it one way and we STILL have the option to define it differently in our own lives and DO WE do that??
That is the question, my sistas...
I wrote a post two weeks ago titled, "Who Even Cares If Brothas Want White Women??" and the conversation got hot! Feel free to stop by and add your thoughts!
Peace, blessings and DUNAMIS!
Lisa
I'm not an advocate for dating white women(personally I the cultural difference is too much for me). but black women...i hate to say it...look in the mirror. YOU GUYS DON'T WANT/ APPRECIATE good black men until they go to the other side. Those millionaires are used to black women a.)treating them like a meal ticket, b.)saying he's to nice, c.)leaving him alone to talk to the "thug". it's a tough existence being a young, intelligent, black man. not to pardon my brothers who go to the other side, because when it's all over there is nothing better than a black woman on your side. But you all have to learn to get the good black man in his infancy
I love this posting. I am not an advocate of same race relations. Although I have children by black men, I prefer to date men of other races and ethnicities. I recall hearing a comment by Chris Rock (my favorite comic, besides Dave Chapelle) said that black men think about being with white women even before they get rich. He says the reason is because black men have no standards, and black women do. He commented that a black woman will not just be with a white man unless he is rich. But anyway, i think that it is so taboo in our culture is because it seems that the people who are in the spotlight go after a certain type of woman and it looks like they just don't need us, but I believe it is just their preference. I don't think they even know why they are attracted at a certain time or point in their lives. And you have to remember too that long time ago, white men used to do the same thing with black women. They would get out of their wives bed and go to the slave quarters and have sex with the women and even rape them. So it may be like a get back as well. Anyway thanks for your postings. I just stumbled onto it and love your entries. Keep up the great work.
Post a Comment