Monday, August 13, 2012

In Praise of Steebie J

Alright, I'll go ahead and say it. I mess with Joseline from the Vh1 show "Love and Hip Hop Atlanta."

Is she a ratchet side piece who doesn't know her place? Yes.
Is she a strip-ho? Yes, and usually they automatically get a credit score of -000.

Buuuuttttt I like this chick. Damnit. This contradicts so many other posts from me, but my educated homegirl and I have discussed that she just might be the realest woman on that farce of a show, and if you know DevaDonna, real recognize real is the motto.

Now, please allow me to defend my position with specific and accurate facts.

1. Joseline's body is on point. She paid for the tatas, she said it, and I usually give demerits for falsies. But they're a prop. Her parents were poor immigrants who don't speak English (which is likely why Joseline can't either. I mean, really, would a cat raised by dogs still purr? Who knows, just throwing that out there), her brother has autism and she was doing what she had to do to help pay the mortgage. Yes, the mortgage. And his medication. Everybody has a damn sob story, I know. So what, her body is still enviable. She looks like a track runner, and them b!tches iz bad. Allegedly, she's working on a fitness DVD. Am I gonna cop it? Sh*t yeah.

2. She contradicts herself often when it comes to Steebie, but there are flashes of clarity. For instance, in one episode she met with a manager or somebody without Stevie's knowledge. The girl said, "Steebie don't make or break me." I respected that! She is determined to make it with or without his help, leading us to believe she is not just effin' for tracks. Now, two days after that she'll be in somebody's magazine talking about how she does whatever her daddy tells her to do...but show me one woman who hasn't been stuck on stupid over a man.

3. Joseline was on the radio in Detroit on Sunday talking mad tough. She said, "I am an international pop goddess, and I'm standing by that." She went on to say that she is a dream catcher, and she is always going to catch her dreams. At the end of the day, she is going to go get everything she wants out of life. Forget what people say, Joseline thinks Joseline has talent. She also has a giving heart. On the radio she said she was giving bottles and money to the baddest girls in the club because "times are hard out here. If I can help pay a light bill or whatever, Ima do it. It's nothing to me." (Did she swag on that azz a little bit right there? OK, but "how do players play? Every day, all day.") She doesn't hate on other women, and encouraged all of us to realize "we run the show."


Above all, THAT is why I like her. She has unshakable confidence. She believes in herself. She has enough self-esteem to package and sell it to the rest of us, and I honestly admire that. So go ahead, clown me if you want. And be honest: every straitlaced person has a ratchet idol or alter ego. Who's yours?

No comments: