Monday, November 3, 2008

Non-Church Folk Love to Tell Church Folk How to Act

"Christians always be the main ones judging you," is the lame excuse they use

NEWS FLASH: EVERYONE judges you! Hence the phrases:

-perception is reality
-you have one chance to make a first impression
-put your best foot forward
-what you see is what you get


If a Christian has an opinion (particularly if it's negative), people confuse that with being judgmental. Guess what? Being a Christian does not mean you automatically view everything around you as roses and potpourri. If your shirt does not complement your figure, what does that have to do with me being a Christian? If your weave is straight and your roots are nappy, making that observation does not counter my Christianity.

-Why don't you wear sweatpants and gym shoes to a job interivew?
BECAUSE SOMEONE IS JUDGING YOU!
-Why do you come to school sugar-sharp on the first day of class?
BECAUSE SOMEONE IS JUDGING YOU!
-Why do you ball your heart out in a championship game?
BECAUSE SOMEONE IS JUDGING YOU!
-Why are Halle Berry and Angelina Jolie seen as beautiful?
BECAUSE SOMEONE JUDGED THEM TO BE SO!
-Why do celebs take out the trash in a full face of makeup?
BECAUSE SOMEONE IS LYING IN WAIT TO TAKE A PICTURE AND JUDGE THEM!

Granted, I attend a pretty liberal church. We believe Jesus came that we might have life, and have it more abundantly. So you won't hear me say you can't dance, or you can't listen to secular music, or you can't have a drink or you're going to hell if you buy a scratch-off lottery ticket. At the same time, there are certainly some activities I view as negative and therefore decline to engage in.

BUT PLEASE WAKE UP - EVERYONE IS JUDGING YOU - ALL THE TIME!

1 comment:

surabi said...

DevaDonna: That is so true that people just view christians as the enemy because Jesus told us they hated me and they will hate you. People want the good and don't want Jesus so they say things to show Christians are so judgmental or hypocritical. It is an excuse like a drug addict makes an excuse to keep doing drugs and drinking. But like you said, everyone judges everyone, but if a christian does it, then it is so wrong and we are all hypocrites. POPPYCOCK, for lack of stronger word that is inappropriate to be spoken.