Monday, October 8, 2012

"Turn on the Lights"



After the entire summer passed, I grew to accept this for the ratchet love song it truly would like to be.

But there were some hurdles I had to jump to get here:

The abusive use of autotune cannot disguise that it sounds like Future is trying to sing while battling throat cancer. But never mind that.


Never mind that he is not on beat for the entire second verse. The melody compels me to keep listening, somehow. Luv to the producer.   My biggest issue was the first 30 seconds.
Literally, stop it at 00:27.

Yo, WHAT did he say?

"Is that her in the VIP line, with the V-tine, and the Ees-Sarant?"

I'd look over to my imaginary passenger and ask, Did he say V-time? What the hell is that? And what is ees sarant? I was so disturbed I had to Google the lyrics. Apparently this fool was saying Vuitton and Yves Saint Laurent.

I guess he had to create sum kinda country contraction to make it fit. I don't know. But what I do believe is, this is why they try to keep certain labels away from us.

No comments: