Monday, June 11, 2012

Take them playclothes off!

I was working at a kids museum, where parents are supposed to play with their children. Instead, many parents used it as an opportunity to catch up on their cell phones with everyone they'd neglected this year while the kids just kind of ran around wreaking havoc.

One Saturday morning, a young guy was in there with his daughter. At about 10 a.m., the cute little girl came running by me. The dad lagged behind, texting someone... in his pajamas.

About three hours later, she came bounding by me again on her way to the exit. A few beats later, here came Dad, shuffling along like a zombie. On his cellphone. In those damn red plaid pajama pants.

Maybe my mother is bougie. But I got yelled at if my feet hit the front porch with house shoes on. Scarves weren't worn anywhere but in bed. One day I tried to do like a relative and wrap my hair because it was hot out. I didn't want my hair to sweat, nor did I want the breeze from having the car windows to blow it all over the place. Practical, right? My mother had a fit, that culminated with the directive to go buy a hat.

Which is why in college, I looked at kids with curiosity and disdain when they went to the caf in pajama pants.  An ex needed to do a midnight WalMart run one day. I said give me a minute to unwrap my hair. Yes, "It's just WalMart," but still!  And today, I smh every time I see a grown person in the store, in the gas station, at McDonalds wearing...pajamas.

Because it begs the question: Did you wake up, take a shower and then put the pajamas on? Probably not...
So we roll out of bed and hit the streets now? That's what we do, Fam? Hygiene optional?

No comments: