Listen here, Good People:
My name is Driadonna. When most ppl hear it, the next thing they do is figure out a way to call me sumthin else. "What do they call you for short? Can I call you Donna? Dri? D?"
Um, the long answer is no. You can call me Driadonna. One of the most basic signs of respect is to address someone by his or her proper name. For all the people out here who claim to be intelligent, quite a few of them freak out when they come across a name with multiple syllables - in certain cases, I should say.
Why is it that when it comes to black people, others think it's OK to roll their eyes and call us by whatever name they choose. If my name were Mahmoud Ahmadenijad, I PROMISE you ppl would not say, "So, can I call you Ma?" No, they would extend the very basic and common courtesy of learning to pronounce it. If I had a name of Muslim descent, like Umar Mohammed Abdullah, or if I had a Russian or Polish name with like 20 consonants back to back and no vowels, folks would ask how to pronounce it properly. If I were French, with a name like D'Artagnan, people would say, "Oh, that's a beautiful name." And if I were Asian, with a name that might be short but still looks nothing like the way it should be pronounced, I guarantee you people would seek clarity and then address me the way I deserve to be addressed.
But it's only when your name is Driadonna, or LaQuanda, or DeMarious, that ppl dismiss it as being a "black" name...and tell you what a hard time you'll have finding a job, and all that.
I've been working at this one store for a month. At one point, I heard the manager refer to me as "that girl." Yesterday, I heard her ask another person what my name was. We've worked together at least 3 shifts. I've already done you a huge favor by chopping off HALF of it and allowing you to call me "Dria." Two syllables. Don't give me that excuse about, "Some ppl are bad with names." NO! Some ppl are just bad with respect. Not acknowledging what my parents chose to call me is your way of saying, "You are an insignificant person, not even valuable enough to have a proper name."
You know one fool even had the nerve to ask, "Do you like your name?" What kinda disrespectful, ignorant question is that!
However, black and Hispanic folk get lazy with it, too. Don't you dare do a double take at my name, when you have grown ppl in your hood that you call Peaches, Pookie, and Shaqwanna! Stop it, please.
In 2010, I'm not giving out any freebies. It's Driadonna. Sound it out, like you tell elementary school kids to do. It's not difficult at all. And if you'd like to be addressed by Becky, Sam, Tom, Kate or Brittany, then it's only fair that you extend the effort to return the favor. And I'm not just talking about my name. This is for all the Kamarias (love u lots) Ladreekas and Driadonnas everywhere who have to network in this world, but could do without the bias you exert when you choose to remember another person's name but immediately dismiss ours.
God gave Adam the authority to name every Good thing He had created.. It's an insult to throw your own label on there, or to disregard their titles.
1 comment:
I know I'm late seeing this, but I was about to write a post on this on my page after my mom clowned a DJ on the radio for having a "black" name. It's people with "white" names taking people out on WalL Street and Capitol Hill, but nobody seems to blame that on their name, just their actions. Let's hope we can get past some of this and judge based on actions.
Post a Comment