Did anyone really think Lewis "Scooter" Libby was going to sit in jail for 30 months? Yes, he was convicted of lying to a grand jury and the FBI involving the investigation of whoever leaked CIA agent Valerie Wilson's identity. Convicted means you sat before a judge and jury and most of the people in the room believed you did it...that's a little more substantial than just being accused. But he did it for Cheney and Bush, and they repaid the favor.
Today W. commuted Libby's sentence. So while he still has a record, two years' probation and a $250,000 fine (which I'm sure is a drop in the bucket), he does not have to leave his family and sit in prison. If I was Valerie I would find a way to slap George Bush. She's going to release a book now, but is that really as exciting or fulfilling as being a CIA operative, a career which she can never reclaim now that her cover is blown?
You can lie to the FBI and get probation, but my cousin can try to steal a car and get 10 years in lockup...
Via The New York Time, let me show you how upper class, privileged people think: "This is not a man who deserves to go to jail in any sense of the word,” said Kenneth L. Adelman, a former Defense Department official and longtime friend of Mr. Libby, who stayed at his Colorado vacation home before his trial.
“Whatever he did wrong, he certainly paid,” Mr. Adelman said, referring to Mr. Libby’s resignation from his prominent position and his public humiliation. “This is a good person who served his country very well and is a decent person,” he said.
Explain to me why they feel the justice system doing its job is so humiliating? No, embarassment is not a good damn punishment if you commit a crime. Is he serious? Same with the Duke Lacrosse boys. You were charged with a crime. The justice system did its job and let you go....why do you feel like you have to be paid for going through a process millions of people rightly (and wrongly) go through a year? Now, I've never been to jail, so take what I say with a grain of salt, but there are people who have actually gone to prison for years for a crime they did not commit. Thanks to DNA or whatever they get out, and what do they get for all the lost time and income? Not a damn thing. The Lacrosse boys get millions of dollars. And Libby, who was found guilty, gets a "get out of jail free" card from Bush.
No comments:
Post a Comment